CalCCA Board of Directors Elects Lori Mitchell as New President

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: February 21, 2023
Contact: Leora Broydo Vestel
(415) 999-4757 |

CalCCA Board of Directors Elects Lori Mitchell as New President
Renewable Energy and Utility Industry Veteran to Lead CCA Trade Association

The California Community Choice Association (CalCCA) is pleased to announce that Lori Mitchell, director of San José Clean Energy (SJCE), has been elected president of the CalCCA Board of Directors for 2023. Mitchell replaces outgoing president Matthew Marshall, executive director of Redwood Coast Energy Authority, who led the board in 2021 and 2022.

Lori Mitchell is CalCCA’s new board president.

Mitchell oversees SJCE, California’s largest single-jurisdiction Community Choice Aggregation (CCA) program and has over 20 years of experience in the renewable energy and utility industry. She is a licensed mechanical engineer and spent years working on a variety of technical renewable energy projects at SunPower Corporation and state government agencies. Prior to joining SJCE Mitchell spent a decade at the San Francisco Public Utilities Commission managing power supply functions for SFPUC and the agency’s CCA program, CleanPowerSF, as well as operating and capital budgets focused on energy efficiency and renewable energy investments.

“The CCA model works, and we’ve accomplished so much. CCAs now serve over 11 million customers in California and we’ve procured over 11,000 megawatts of new renewable energy and storage resources,” Mitchell said. “I’m looking forward to facilitating the continued success and expansion of this proven model for a cleaner and safer energy future.”

CalCCA’s 2023 board leadership also includes Ted Bardacke, chief executive officer of Clean Power Alliance, who is remaining in the role of vice president for a second year; Barbara Boswell, chief executive officer of Clean Energy Alliance, the board’s new secretary; and Girish Balachandran, chief executive officer of Silicon Valley Clean Energy, who is returning as board treasurer.

The CalCCA Board of Directors also approved the following Executive Committee members for 2023:

  • Lori Mitchell (Director, San José Clean Energy)
  • Ted Bardacke (Chief Executive Officer, Clean Power Alliance)
  • Karin Burns (Chief Executive Officer, San Diego Community Power)
  • Nick Chaset (Chief Executive Officer, East Bay Community Energy)
  • Don Eckert (Executive Director, Pioneer Community Energy)
  • Jan Pepper (Chief Executive Officer, Peninsula Clean Energy)
  • Mitch Sears (Executive Officer, Valley Clean Energy)
  • Matthew Marshall (Ex-Officio – Executive Director, Redwood Coast Energy Authority)

In selecting directors for leadership positions, the board strives for representation of the diversity of communities that CalCCA members serve. Special attention is paid to geographic diversity, socioeconomic diversity, and size (number of customer accounts).

Board officers and Executive Committee members serve for a term of two years. For the full list of CalCCA directors go to:


About CalCCA
Launched in 2016, the California Community Choice Association (CalCCA) represents California’s community choice electricity providers before the state legislature and at regulatory agencies. There are 25 operational CCA programs in California serving more than 11 million customers—about one-quarter of the state’s population—in 200+ cities and counties throughout the state. For more information about CalCCA, visit